Arts + EntertainmentEventsNews

Terence Rattigan Award Announced


New writing award announced to honour Sir Terence Rattigan on the eve of his work Flare Path opening at The Connaught Theatre in Worthing.

The winner of this prestigious writing award will have their play produced professionally in 2017, with monetary prizes also on offer. Setup by The Terrance Rattigan Society, which honours his unique contribution to British drama, the entries will be judged by David Suchet, Julian Fellowes, Thea Sharrock and Dan Rebellato.

Suchet, who will host the formal announcement of the award on 26 January at the Jermyn Street Theatre said: “I’m thrilled that the Terence Rattigan Society is offering an award for a new play in his name. As one of this country’s true masters of the dramatists’ craft, it is a fitting tribute to his enormous contribution to the theatre”.

Fellowes commented: “Terence Rattigan is one of England’s greatest playwrights whose light was hidden under a bushel for far too long before his recent rediscovery. An award in his name, dedicated to finding new talent and bringing it out of the darkness for the public to enjoy, seems only fitting.”

The tour of Rattigan’s Flare Path, which is based on his experiences as a tail gunner during World War II, will be opening this year at Worthing’s Connaught Theatre 27-30 January. The final casting has been announced, with Daniel Fraser and Audrey Palmer joining the other talented cast on stage which includes former EastEnders actor Charlie Hawkins and TV regular Graham Seed.

Previous post

Dining in The Dog Haus: New Gourmet Hot Dog Joint Launches at Patterns in Brighton

Next post


No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *