Arts + Entertainment

THE PROCLAIMERS in Hastings

2015/16  saw The Proclaimers  tour extensively  around the World with 150 shows, which began in Kelso and ended in San Diego.  Highlights along the way included their  6th  appearance  at  Glastonbury,  T  In  The  Park,  Cambridge,  V  Festivals, CarFest, Hong Kong Stadium and their first concert at the Sydney Opera House.

Last year saw Craig and Charlie off the road focusing on writing their next collection of songs. They will now record their 11th studio album in Spring 2018 for release in August on Cooking Vinyl, and head back out on tour from the Summer with 48 dates across the UK this year.

Strikingly individual, twin brothers Craig and Charlie Reid emerged 31 years ago with their debut album ‘This Is The Story’ and Top 3 single ‘Letter from America’. Since then their enduring appeal across generations has over the years seen them enjoy huge success across the globe.

Proclaimers lead image

The Proclaimers songs are timeless, capturing a gamut of human emotions, written with  poignancy,  emotional  honesty,  political  fire  and  wit.  Their  songs  feature  at weddings, funerals and everything in-between and there is one song, an early celebration of falling head over heels in love that is known the world over and has become a staggeringly global anthem. There are many others that have gained great popularity in different parts of the planet and then there is a wide cross section of sublime songs embraced by a multitude that has kept up with The Proclaimers studio albums, compilation collections and extensive touring over three decades.

The Proclaimers have carved out a niche for themselves in the netherworld where pop, folk, new wave and punk collide. In the process, they have enjoyed Gold and Platinum singles and albums in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

They have even inspired a musical, the play and film ‘Sunshine on Leith’. The movie was  the  fifth  highest  grossing  Independent  UK  film  of  2013. The  musical  has  its fourth UK run from April to June this year, with its biggest production to date by West Yorkshire Playhouse. 2018 also marks the 30th anniversary since the release of the ‘Sunshine On Leith’ album.

On BBC Radio 4’s Desert Island discs, David Tennant describes his first track by The Proclaimers – “I could have chosen any and every track from this band, probably my favourite band of all time. They write the most spectacular songs, big hearted, uncynical passionate songs.”

www.proclaimers.co.uk

Tickets for The Proclaimers 2018 UK Tour go on general sale on Friday 23rd February 2018.

THE PROCLAIMERS

Date Venue
Sun 22 Jul Llandudno Venue Cymru
Sat 28 Jul Carlisle Sands Centre
Sun 29 Jul Scarborough Spa Grand Hall
Sat 11 Aug Bournemouth Pavilion
Wed 10 Oct Cardiff St Davids Hall
Thu 11 Oct Norwich Theatre Royal
Sat 13 Oct Blackburn King Georges Hall
Sun 14 Oct Liverpool Empire
Tue 16 Oct Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
Wed 17 Oct York Barbican
Thu 18 Oct Newcastle City Hall
Sat 20 Oct Hull City Hall
Sun 21 Oct Sheffield City Hall
Tue 23 Oct Leicester de Montfort Hall
Wed 24 Oct Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Thu 25 Oct Portsmouth Guildhall

 

2018 UK & IRELAND TOUR

Sat 27 Oct Bath Forum
Sun 28 Oct Brighton Dome
Mon 29 Oct Birmingham Symphony Hall
Wed 31 Oct Cambridge Corn Exchange
Thu 1 Nov London Palladium
Fri 2 Nov Coventry WAC
Sun 4 Nov Manchester Opera House
Fri 9 Nov Edinburgh Playhouse
Sat 10 Nov Edinburgh Playhouse
Thu 15 Nov Dunfermline Alhambra
Fri 16 Nov Glasgow 02Academy
Sat 17 Nov Glasgow 02 Academy
Thu 22 Nov Perth Concert Hall
Fri 23 Nov Inverness Leisure Centre
Sat 24 Nov Aberdeen BHGE Arena
Thu 29 Nov Ipswich Regent
Fri 30 Nov Basingstoke Anvil
Sat 1 Dec Hastings White Rock Theatre
Fri 7 Dec Belfast Ulster Hall
Sat 8 Dec Dublin Vicar Street
Thu 13 Dec Motherwell Town Hall
Fri 14 Dec Stirling Albert Hall
Sat 15 Dec Dundee Caird Hall
images (2)
Previous post

Refined Sugar vs Natural Sugar – What’s the difference?

iw
Next post

BRIGHTON MUSIC CONFERENCE (BMC18) ANNOUNCES IRVINE WELSH AND MORE

No Comment

Leave a Reply